ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA

Nirvachan Sadan, Ashoka Road, New Delhi-110001

No. ECI/PN/18/2012 Dated: 16th February, 2012

PRESS NOTE

Subject: Schedule for bye-elections to fill casual vacancies in

Parliamentary/Assembly Constituencies - reg

There are following casual vacancies in Parliamentary Constituency/ Assembly Constituencies in different states, which need to be filled up.

SI. No.	Name of State	Number and Name of Parliamentary Constituency/ Assembly Constituencies
1	Karnataka	15 – Udupi Chikmagalur PC
2	Andhra Pradesh	74 – Mahabubnagar AC
3	Andhra Pradesh	81 – Nagarkurnool AC
4	Andhra Pradesh	235 – Kovur AC
5	Andhra Pradesh	99 - Ghanpur (Station)(SC) AC
6	Andhra Pradesh	85 – Kollapur AC
7	Andhra Pradesh	07 – Adilabad AC
8	Andhra Pradesh	16 – Kamareddy AC
9	Gujarat	84 – Mansa AC
10	Kerala	85 – Piravom AC
11	Tamil Nadu	219 - Sankaran Kovil (SC) AC
12	Odisha	89 – Athgarh AC

After taking into consideration various factors like, festivals, electoral rolls, etc., the Commission has decided to hold bye-elections to fill these vacancies as per the programme mentioned as under:-

Event	Date
Issue of Notification	22.02.2012 (Wednesday)
Last date of making Nominations	29.02.2012 (Wednesday)
3. Scrutiny of Nominations	01.03.2012 (Thursday)
4 . Last date for withdrawal of Candidatures	03.03.2012 (Saturday)
5. Date of Poll	18.03.2012 (Sunday)
6. Counting of Votes	21.03.2012 (Wednesday)
7. Date before which election shall be completed	25.03.2012 (Sunday)
8. Hours of Poll	08.00 AM to 5.00 PM

ELECTORAL ROLL

The electoral rolls for ACs comprised in 15 – Udupi Chikmagalur Parliamentary Constituency of Karnataka and 74 – Mahabubnagar AC, 81 – Nagarkurnool AC, 235 – Kovur AC, 99 – Ghanpur (Station)(SC) AC, 85 – Kollapur AC, 07 – Adilabad AC and 16 – Kamareddy AC in Andhra Pradesh, 84 – Mansa AC in Gujarat, 85 – Piravom AC in Kerala, 219 – Sankaran Kovil (SC) AC in Tamil Nadu and 89 – Athgarh AC in Odisha have been revised with reference to 01.01.2012 as the qualifying date and have been published.

ELECTRONIC VOTING MACHINES (EVMs)

The Commission has decided to use EVMs in the bye-elections in all the polling stations. Adequate numbers of EVMs have been made available and all steps have been taken to ensure that the polls are conducted smoothly with the help of these machines.

IDENTIFICATION OF VOTERS

In consonance with the past practice, the Commission has decided that the voter's identification shall be mandatory in the aforementioned bye- elections at the time of poll. Electoral Photo Identity Cards (EPIC) shall be the main document of identity of a voter. However, in order to ensure that no voter is deprived of his/her franchise, if his/her name figures in the Electoral Rolls, separate instructions will be issued to allow additional documents for identification of voters at the time of poll in the said bye-elections.

MODEL CODE OF CONDUCT

The Model Code of Conduct shall come into force with immediate effect in the district(s) in which the whole or any part of the Parliamentary Constituency/Assembly Constituencies going for bye-elections is included. The Model Code of Conduct shall be applicable to all candidates, political parties and the State Governments concerned. The Model Code of Conduct shall also be applicable to the Union Government for the States concerned.

(YASHVIR SINGH)
DIRECTOR